what really frustrates me with BWGGK.. - Antsmarching.org Forums - Dave Matthews Band Discussion

Go Back   Antsmarching.org Forums - Dave Matthews Band Discussion > Archive > 'Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King' Album Discussion

Want to hide all ads on Ants? Click here

Old 06-07-2009, 12:47 PM   #1
acoustic_soul
proudest billie

Shows Seen: 0

DMB Hub Stubs: 1

My Tour Central Stats

what really frustrates me with BWGGK..

This is a great album, but I get frustrated when I listen to it for a few reasons

1) As we all know, there is very little Boyd. that's annoying. what worse is that I can hear him on a few songs, but he's turn down so low that I had to turn up my headphones to hear it. that's not cool. I feel like Tim is on this record at the expense of Boyd.

It's almost as if the "sound" of the band has changed a bit.

..which brings me to #2

2) Too much electric guitar. Even though I'm a guitarist, I always loved the "sound" of the band, how Roi and Boyd were there instead of an electric guitarist. It was one of the things that made DMB unique and special for me. I don't like the sound of many of these songs with Tim all over them.

Tim did a great job with the Big 3 by positively contributing to the albums without being overbearing, but on this album, it's all Tim, all the time.

I think a song like FTWII would sound awesome with acoustic guitars instead of electric, which is my point.

3)Songs lack depth IMO. I LOVE the songs on BW, I adore them. They have tons of potential and this is what frustrates me.

On the Big 3, there are a lot of instrumental parts and solos from members of the band, and the songs were more complex as a result. On BW, there are rarely any solos, and if there are any, they are from Tim.