Want to hide all ads on Ants? Click here

   
Show Reviews
Dave Matthews Band
August 15, 2007
Verizon Wireless Virginia Beach Amphitheater, Virginia Beach, VA

Ants Rating:

Show Reviews


User: 10-31
Rating:
Review:
This was the day time I smoked.

User: 2stepnmonkey
Rating:
Review:
Rhyme and Reason followed by #41 paid my admission and was worth the drive down from Philly. Hearing those two songs played on electric did it for me. With regards to the rest of the show....great energy, crazy jams, but still did not beat Camden N2. This was show #22 for me and it was decent, not the best. Was totally disappointed at the encore. Last week in Camden was the same. I love Watchtower but twice in a week to close?? Was expecting ANYTHING off of BTCS since they played NOTHING off of it. Dave and the boys really seemed to be wanting to be there. Smiles all around, dancing on stage etc. All around a decent show. Keep up the good work guys. This tour has kicked ass so far.

User: accchamps02
Rating:
Review:
Simply Incredible.

User: alwgirl
Rating:
Review:
well this was my 10th show in 8years and i finally made down to orch2 8th row and all i can still say is OMG they layed it down this night! cornbread was rockin and R&R was a huge treat but my favorites had to be some devil (full band) and daves solo (encore gravedigger) was sweet when i left my legs were like noodles and my voice was gone and i was just SPEECHLESS my mom went with me it was her 3rd show she loves boyd and he had some awesome solos so it was just phenomenal thankyou dmb till next time hopefully walnut creek

User: asortiz
Rating:
Review:
Best Birthday Present

User: ben1415
Rating:
Review:
Alls I gots to say is #41 & RR with Joe Lawler!!! Where did this guy come from, he is absolutely sick! Rivivals that of 9.22.06 and has to be among the best concerts I have ever seen.

User: biggie22
Rating:
Review:
Great opening rendition of Two Step

User: bmeerbott
Rating:
Review:
Amazing set list

User: braaaaaaaadley
Rating:
Review:
Great show. Best 41 I have heard in a long time... right up there with bela's version. Shotgun, cornbread, two step, watchtower, ants marching were also solid. Finally Va. Beach got a good show!!!

User: Bryan98
Rating:
Review:
One of the best I have seen in VA Beach!

User: clgirl
Rating:
Review:
Best yet. Great energery, good set list. Had a blast!

User: ctaylordmb
Rating:
Review:
Awesome show! Love Cornbread and #27. #41 was amazing! Nice change with Joe Lawlor but as I listen to the show now, I miss Roi's sublime jamming which is the reason this is my favorite DMB song. I was thrilled to see that Dave's voice sounded great. They seemed really into it. 24th show... thank you DMB!!

User: davehead
Rating:
Review:
I've been to 40+ shows and this one makes my top 10. The last few years the VB shows haven't been that good but this year was great.

R&R should only be played with Joe Lawlor from now on, he's that good. He was better in VB than at UVA. It seems everyone liked 41 with Lawlor but I still prefer the quiet version, being able to hear Leroi.

I was next to the soundstage and got to watch Fenton work his magic all night. I then got to watch one of the camera guys give the setlist to the guys in front of me (that sucked). Great show!

User: davelean1981
Rating:
Review:
Two Step was an incredible opener! Toots on Warehouse was an swesome version! Lame venue...

User: DmaAttVheEews
Rating:
Review:
Great show.

Sat down during Idea of You and Shotgun because they suck ass.

But Rhyme and Reason was finally great to here and 41. speachless.

Cornbread amazing

tweeter shows in mansfield were better, but 41 and rhyme were by far the highlights of all

The drive from boston was def worth it.

fuckin security their were a bunch of quear baags

User: dmbgodagirl41
Rating:
Review:
Great Energy....awesome setlist. Great 41 and Warehouse with the Salsa Outro. Had an awesome time, and everyone around me on the lawn was SO FUN!!

Yeah VA Beach!!

User: dmbjammer
Rating:
Review:
One of the best Va. Beach shows I have seen in a few years!

User: DMBn2BTs#41
Rating:
Review:
Great show right off the bat with an amazing two step. No lows in the set, cornbread and #27 in a row, which i personaly loved, but the crowd wasnt too found of them, but enjoyed them more than they thought. The warehouse to ants it was a great set. The encore, gravedigger is a great song, but was kinda hoping for a different song, but never heard watchtower live so it was still great. Joe Lawlor was great on Ryme and #41, but missed the roi and rashawn solos on #41. But none the less one of the best shows ive seen. O yea and toots busted out on Louie Louie was great!!!

User: dmbsquirrel
Rating:
Review:
Very energetic! Great 41, overall awesome show!

User: Donnyd04
Rating:
Review:
great songs played. first concert. loved it. cant wait til next year!

User: dpavadmb
Rating:
Review:
Holy God! Two Step opening, Warehouse, Some Devil, Grey Street, RR and 41 with Joe Lawlor, Ants to end set, then WATCHTOWER!!!!!!!!
This was my fifth show and by far the best (even better than 09.22.06 at UVA). Loved Cornbread, 27, and Shotgun. Overall, amazing, except for Toots; Toots sucked. Great Job Dave, Boyd, Carter, Leroi, and Steffan!!!

User: Duffman482
Rating:
Review:
Great show...loved the full band version of Some Devil...#41 debut was a treat, joe lawlor is a beast. great setlist overall.

User: elacy001
Rating:
Review:
Dave sung his ass off! I mean come on, starting with Two Step and finishing with Ants Marching. Then coming back with Gravedigger and Watchtower, it was basically amazing.

User: emharri2
Review:
you cant top this shows energy period

User: ewilkinson185
Rating:
Review:
Good show!

User: freshprince7386
Rating:
Review:
AMAZING!!!

User: FrogmanLTD
Rating:
Review:
Amazing. Nothing short of amazing.

User: GetOnTheBoat
Rating:
Review:
Excellent show yet again. Not as good as Camden N2, but that is the gold standard for this tour.
The band is playing with a lot of energy. Joe Lawlor on guitar for R&R and #41 were highlights, as was Shotgun, #27, Cornbread. Two
Step is great as an opener! I have seen Toots on Warehouse twice now and he seems lost out there
on this song. I love his music, but he doesn't seem to work on this song. Fourth show I have seen on the tour, and the DMB has been consistently excellent!

User: goodgoodtime29
Rating:
Review:
i love virginia beach. great show, warehouse with toots was amazing not to mention louie louie. rhyme and reason and 41 with joe lawlor were amazing. dave paid his respects introducing joe saying that he could only wish to have the talent joe has on guitar

User: gromitvt
Rating:
Review:
Definately a better VB show that've I've been to. We missed the last 2 years - and I'm glad we opted to see VB instead of Nissan this year. Great video/audio work by the crew this year - and stage design keeps getting better. Thoroughly enjoyed the 2-Step starter and having #41 back after a few years off for me.

Also enjoyed the kid they upgraded seats for next to me that seemed to think each second of the show was the greatest concert moment in the history of live music. Rock on little dude.

User: guitarfreak
Review:
AMAZING

User: guitarseniorita
Rating:
Review:
Absolutely Amazing. best one of their shows I have been to... definitely made up for the other 3 shows i missed from being away the two weeks before that. I was In to every second of that show

User: HaLLoWeen0423
Rating:
Review:
Shotgun, watchtower, an unbelieveable Ryhme and Reason, and #41 with speacial guest that just tore it up!!!! this concert was awsome!!!

User: harrisscott22
Rating:
Review:
Great Show, Really enjoyed new songs. First concert with Steph :)

User: heyyriggs
Rating:
Review:
Some Devil was a definite highlight. Great show all around. Great Energy. Cornbread kicks ass.

User: Hlthgazer83
Rating:
Review:
awesome show.....i have been to 15 dave shows and this is a top 5! Cornbread was a great!

User: homedas73
Rating:
Review:
I was really pleased to hear a good variety of songs and only 2 from last years show. (Bayou and Everyday.) I thought overall this was one of the best dave shows I have been to since 1996. Two Step to open was awesome, really set the mood. #41 was by far the best I heard in a decade. Toot was in la la land for Warehouse, hell I could have played a better guitar then that. I enjoy his music, but he really needs to improve w/ Dave. You could tell how into the show the band was and it definately showed in the overall performance. GREAT ASS SHOW!!!!!!!!

User: HRDMB
Rating:
Review:
What a show!!!!! No Low points, many highlights:

Two Step Opener: WOW! Great way to get the night started!

Corn Bread was sick and still getting better.

#27 was great as usual.

Warehouse with Toots was so much better than at Nissan. Toots realized when to play/sing and when to shut up and let DMB do their thing.

Bayou was shorter but good.

Some Devil full band was AMAZING! A lot of emotion in this song, and the band added to it!

Shotgun: Great version! A ton of energy and the lyrics were better than Nissan. This version is comparable to Charlottesville 06.

R&R: Joe Lawlor is the man!!

#41: WOW! I was shocked and the jam was unbelievable.

Ants Marching lifted the VA Beach crowd and the energy this song brought to this venue could be the most the VA Beach Amphitheater has ever seen.

The Watchtower encore closer was played to perfection. Great way to end a great show.

My tickets were in section 201 but my friend had extra seats in the 7th row of section 101 and the difference is unbelievable. I have never had the opportunity to be that close to the stage and of the many DMB shows I have seen, I will remember this one more because of my location. The experience is so much different and in the future I will probably not settle for less than seats comparable to these because now I know what an experience it is. Thanks DMB!!


User: IceInferno
Rating:
Review:
Awesome Show...Well worth the drive from the Jersey Shore...

User: jazzfan
Rating:
Review:
A few songs were just so-so in my preference, but overall this was an amazing show with smooth jams and a ton of energy in the crowd. Being in the center... balanced audio.

User: jbdmb2003
Rating:
Review:
This was my 12th show...it was amazing. Saw them in Saratoga the night before. 9 hr trip was more than worth it... R&R...awsome. Bringing back Watchtower was amazing. Love them more each show...

User: jockey00
Rating:
Review:
Great set list--Best new music in 5 years

User: joe881
Rating:
Review:
.

User: jstokes15
Rating:
Review:
Great Show!!!!!!!!!

User: KASpringer55
Rating:
Review:
4th show I've been to, and was blown away. Didn't expect Two Step as an opener and the night only got better. No real complaints, but Toots doesn't seem to possess the ability to blend in with the band when he steps in to play (if you were there you know what I mean, and I imagine if you download the show you'll see too). Waited four years for Watchtower to close and couldn't be happier. Best version of #41 I've heard in quite a while too.

User: kentdaddy
Rating:
Review:
high energy show for the most part...loved corn bread...didn't play anything from BTCS though..

User: kirmithefrg
Rating:
Review:
Dave has been known for not having a great show in VA Beach. This year he blew me out of the water as it was the best show I've ever seen. This show beat out the 2006.9.22. from C-ville. Absolute best #41 and Ants Marching that I've ever heard. Joe added amazing guitar parts as #41 will never be played the same again. Toots looked a little off of the band as he seemed to do the same dance moves over and over. The whole band looked into the concert and it was great to see Carter point to different members of the band as he counted into "Ants Marching". Releaved that they didn't play Stay, although I like the song, its too overplayed and had been played too much at VA Beach. On the opposite side of things, Warehouse hadn't been played since 2004 and made a great return, especially the Louie Louie. Rashawn was great on the trumpet as well. Overall I can't wait to see the next Dave show in VA Beach as I hope he won't screw us over anymore. Great show, great crowd, great atmosphere.

User: kiwilee321
Rating:
Review:
THAT WAS THE BEST DAVE SHOW I'VE BEEN TO. DMB IS AMAZING.

User: laxxedup316
Rating:
Review:
Was definitely the best show I've been to thus far it was nothing shy of unbelievable Dave and the Band was really into the crowd which made for a great atmosphere and even better music!

User: Mayhem23
Rating:
Review:
7th show overall and this was by far the best. Greatest version of Warehouse I've ever seen. The band had so much energy, everyone was on fire. We knew it was going to be good when they opened with Two Step and Carter already had a drum solo. #27 is lyrically the best song Dave's ever written and seeing #41 again was fantastic. Thanks again fellas!

User: mhouse
Rating:
Review:
ORCH2/M/25

User: mindconfuzion
Rating:
Review:
saw them in spac night before. much better show but not quite the same atmosphere. rhyme and reason and grey street....AMAZING! toots almost killed it but bust show ive seen yet far (my 5th)

User: NavyBoy41
Rating:
Review:
I have been to 20 DMB shows and only three shows I've been to get five stars. 12.10.05 Madison Square Garden, 9.23.06 Charlottesville, and this show. Simply amazing from front to back.

User: NCAA1981
Rating:
Review:
Outstanding show. The band was running on all cylinders tonight, and the setlist was interesting and varied. Some highlights:

Two Step opener: Wow. Never expected it. Really set the tone for a great show.

Shotgun: Beautiful and powerful new song. I was stunned at how great it was.

R&R: Rarely gets played, but it was polished and intense tonight. Lawlor added a lot.

#41: Obviously a treat. Best version I've personally ever heard. Great electric work by Lawlor again.

Some Devil: Never heard it live, the band added a lot.

Ants: Wild version. Crowd was going crazy; always a nice way to end a set.

Watchtower: Great intro by Stefan, and an overall powerful rendition. Great end to a great show.

User: nicholascalo121
Rating:
Review:
#41 rhyme and reason two step.!!!!!!! BEST SHOW EVER.

User: NorwichDaveFan
Rating:
Review:
Out-fuckin-standing....

User: PIG36
Rating:
Review:
awesome enjoyed every minute

User: RacingCrazy24
Rating:
Review:
awsome show lots of old songs.

User: Rapunzel1208
Rating:
Review:
It was only my second DMB show, and it was really great! Gravedigger and All Along the Watchtower for the encore was awesome!

User: ronrotondo
Rating:
Review:
Had a great time! TWO STEP OPENER!! Joe Lawlor was amazing on R & R and #41. Loved Warehouse with Toots Hibbert. Even though theyve been selling out on the new stuff Cornbread and #27 are really growing on me and Shotgun is their finest song in a while. This show will not get 5 stars because I've been to 14 shows since 2005 and have seen Louisiana Bayou 13 times and You Might Die Trying 8 times. It's time to give those tunes a break Dave!!

User: Seadooxp25
Rating:
Review:
WOW!! This show was unreal! Great crowd (much more attentive, and respectful then Tuesday night's, because they knew when to go nuts and when to let Dave say a few things), great weather, creating a beautiful evening setting as a great sunset left way for a bright line of stars. And of course...great music! All the way from open to close. Highlights include: Two Step Opener (yeah, what a way to get a crowd to go nuts right off the bat. Enjoyed this very much, right as a beautiful sunset was taking place.), Die Trying was really great tonight(been hearing this song alot this year and it has really matured since I first saw it at Bonnaroo '05. Very dramatic ending that you can feel, and though many people will bash this tune, those who really listen to it live will love it. Hope to hear more of this one, for sure.), Both new songs; #27, and Cornbread were the best I've heard last night. (Dave did a great job introducing #27 to the audience and they loved it. Then, the band got down with Cornbread, and the crowd was jumping throughout the entire song, Dave was very excited to sing and play this one, hit the falsetto's very well), Boyd really broke it down during Louisiana Bayou (best Bayou on the tour so far), Grey Steet was awesome, then came Joe Lawlor. Saw this guy two nights last year in Charlottesville. Liked the sound he brought to the band then, and absolutely loved it at Virginia Beach! Musicians that come out for their second run with the band are more confident (Vusi last Saturday @ Nissan) and Joe Lawlor was no exception to this. This was the best version of Rhyme & Reason I've ever heard (Better than C'ville last year). They really should have an electric guitarist with them every time they play this tune, because it sounds so damn good! Everyday>Ants Marching was a great way to close out a great set, love when they do that seague (first time I experienced that since 8/20/05 at the Gorge). Stefan came out and had a great bass solo as he lead the band into a thrilling version of All Along the Watchtower. I believe many will agree with me, the song of the night was #41. A fan favorite, and the building roar of this crowd was awesome as the well-known intro to this song was played. Joe Lawlor added alot to this tune and the crowd loved it. Everything about this moment was, again, perfect (for the second time this tour, 8/11/07 with Vusi, during Everyday.) It was just something that is hard to explain unless you were there and you could feel the vibe. Great song and the right time for the setting that had taken place at the Amphitheatre. Dave hit every trademark, falsetto note during this late-setlist tune as well(great to see this). One of the best versions I've ever heard, can't compare to the versions with the Flecktones, but this version was still great. Had a great time at Virginia beach this year (even better than the 4th of July last year). Will be back next year, for sure. Great local brews down on 22nd street at a bar, appropriately named "Abbey Road." This is the best show I've seen so far this year, and will be hard to top. This show marked the 12th anniversary of what is most likely their best show ever performed(aka Live @ Red Rocks 8/15/95). They still have some dates at Alpine and the Gorge where they never dissapoint. I'll see everyone at Peidmont Park in Atlanta, as the Dave Matthews Band and the Allman Brothers get together for the first time since Bonnaroo 2005. Very excited for this sold out Benefit performance. See y'all in a few weeks.

User: seniorgomez
Review:
10th show!! woo!!
honestly never thought i'd ever see two step open and i loved it!! the new stuff was fucking awesome, even though i was preocupied with someone threating me over the phone i loved what i heard! lol.

i agree that toots really doesn't do much for the band but be loud, idk i caught his last song and it wasn't bad just a different sound.

shotgun was awesome, love it, and rr and 41 w/ jo lawler were nuts! i saw him in c-ville last year both nights and knew we were in for a show when dave announced him.

i loved the double time or whatever beat change they do in everyday live now during the verse

and i actually really enjoyed watchtower and thank god somebody finally told fonzie that he can show out for a minute or two rather than just noodle for 10 seconds before crush or something.

loved the show, first time at VA drove all the way from greenville SC! see yall in raleigh and charlotte!!

User: simolicious
Rating:
Review:
Many things made this show great! Including the following:
Riding our Harley's out there
The venue had great sound
Hanging with Kevin and Theresa at the show
The setlist
Lawlor was awesome
Partying with Jeff and Matt after the show, thanks for the ride

Toots was out of place up there, Louie Louie was cool though
Had a blast! Definately my funnest night of the trip! 19th show

User: sirpsycho
Rating:
Review:
Some Devil blew my mind open, i think me and my friends were the only ones into toots

User: soccermon1
Rating:
Review:
Not the greatest show I've ever seen. It was slightly rainy and Dave & the guys didn't really seem that into the show.

User: Sportschick32
Review:
Amazing show. Will def. travel there next year

User: steveguy13
Rating:
Review:
i had been to nissan to see them 4 days earlier and they ended that show with two step. this show opened with two step, only it was louder and more intense and told me right away that we were gonna be in for a hell of a night. dmb came to rock that hill in VA Beach way harder than they rocked the hill at nissan.

there never seemed to be a break in this show... meaning they just kept the energy flowing all night long non stop. im glad i got a hold of the torrent and i recommend it to everyone.

User: stewnana
Rating:
Review:
Great!!!

User: strick21
Rating:
Review:
What a ASS KICKIN SHOW... Never forget this one!

User: strokrhigh
Rating:
Review:
Always love the DMB shows here in VA Veach. I have see him here the last 4 years and love every show I have been to. He opened with my favorite song Two Step so that started the night out great.

User: sweetveronica
Rating:
Review:
The best I've seen this year so far setlist was amazing and the audience was amazing and the show went on the longest.

User: Toobs360
Rating:
Review:
Lost my mind when they played louie louie!!!

User: Twevo
Rating:
Review:
Following a frienzied sprint to the lawn and watching the silly hippies dance to Toots, this was an absolutely AMAZING show! Only my third personally and all have been in VA Beach and I don't think he can top this one. I never expected the kind of energy the band had with a show the night before this one. I heard every song I wanted to and then some, and Lawlor was just amazing

User: typicalstone34
Rating:
Review:
Fun show: My first time hearing #41 so that was sweet. Good WTWE too. I liked #27, Cornbread, Warehouse was cool. Can never go wrong with R&R. Gravedigger solo was neat. They played watchtower quickly because i guess they were rushed for time, but all in all good solid show. I just think the guys are playing the same songs a lot and should mix it up more.

User: vcu2012olds
Rating:
Review:
First DMB and first concert ever. Junior year of high school and havent stopped listening to Dave yet! Awesome show!

User: vernpressorman
Rating:
Review:
this show was incredible!!! Joe Lawlor kicked it into high gear - best #41 I've ever heard -- he should join the band as far as I'm concerned...

User: waltero
Review:
I thought the show was excellent. Lotsa energy from Dave, the band and the crowds. Sounded great.

User: willig.2
Rating:
Review:
The setlist rocked!! The show had a great combination of old and new songs, ranging from Rhyme and Reason to #27. The icing on the cake for me was definitely when they played my favorite song #41 and encored with All Along The Watchtower! The concert was well worth the 9 hours drive!

User: wordsmith34
Review:
Freakin A.

User: Xenocide20
Rating:
Review:
I have been to 9 Dave shows over the last 8 years and this is probably my second favorite. This first one being the very first show I saw in 2000. The setlist was awesome, and for the first time in awhile he really seemed to have alot of fun up there. Great chemistry all around fantastic show.

User: xflov
Review:
Dave did one of the best versions of Warehouse yet!!! The show was amazing!!


   


Want to hide all ads on Ants? Click here

   
LINKSABOUTMOBILESOCIAL
Home
Ants+
Tour Central
Search bar
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
The Ants Blog
Advertise on Ants
Privacy Policy
DMB Live Setlist
Ants Tour Central
Ants on your cell phone
mobile news
mobile setlists
Ants' Twitter
DMBLive Twitter
Ants Facebook
Ants Instagram
Matt's Twitter
Jake's Twitter
Joe's Twitter