Want to hide all ads on Ants? Click here

   
Show Reviews
Dave Matthews Band
August 26, 2007
Alpine Valley Music Theatre, East Troy, WI

Ants Rating:

Show Reviews


User: 09sheehb
Review:
So sweet

User: 2StepWI8306
Review:
8.26.07. We are all witnesses.

User: aaaace
Rating:
Review:
DMB ANTZ/Minn Plate to Butch from Cassandra.

41 at the Alpine Bar was a nice nightcap.

User: Aaron G
Rating:
Review:
BEST SHOW EVER, FIRST TIME AT ALPINE, BEEN AT THE GORGE FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS, BLOWS THE GORGE OUT OF THE WATER. AMAZING SET LIST! CANT WAIT FOR NEXT YEAR!

User: aatw
Review:
Only second DMB show and it was AMAZING! As soon as they started Dreaming Tree, Dave had a shit-eating grin on his face! I love it!

User: ACAllen
Rating:
Review:
Great show...made up for a so-so Noblesville.

User: ACKHarbor
Rating:
Review:
Far and away the best Dave Matthews Band show I have ever been to. The setlist is something to dream of. The fans, the musicians, and a starry sky with moon in high made night two at Alpine 2007 something to remember forever.

User: AdamBomb35
Rating:
Review:
A great setlist! Phenomenal performance from all the HUGELY talented band-members and guests! Thank you for a show I will not forget ever!!
P.S. How are those guys gonna top that?

User: adamortiz11
Rating:
Review:
Awesome! Opening with the Dreaming Tree was Crazy..so much energy from the Band, probably the craziest I've ever seen Dave. Anyone Seen the Bridge featured Dave Posing several times while a light flashed on him. And the best part is I literally predicted the whole encore. Gravedigger/AB Intro..>All Along The Watchtower!

User: AfterHer55
Rating:
Review:
Incredible!

User: agenthehe
Rating:
Review:
Don't have much time to comment as I may fall over from exhaustion from this weekend... Good setlist!

a few things... anyone who was there tonight saw a few one in a million things...

Dave went Fvcking Bananas after Captain KD's solo on Jimi, it was an amaizing solo and I've seen dave go nuts before at shows, but serously he was like tripping out like I've never seen before after the solo.

The freestyle rap by the Roots lead singer into eh hee was crazy sick!

The was they hung the Bridge on us, I've never seen before and don't know if I'll ever see that again the way they completed SMTS started to regroup like the song was over, the lights went off they started doing their insturment adjustments and stuff and they were doing like all the post song normal stuff they do between songs... then out of the blue they froze (actually they froze two times after a few teases) the first for a few seconds after like a note then freeze #2 then a lil longer tease then again... then like a 15 second we know what you want and we're gonna make you guys work for it lets hear some noise into the bridge was just sick!

I'd like to know what was on the set list because when dave played the new song they brough him the electric first (and it's not an electic song) and there were a few times the guitar tech came running on very late with a different guitar (I'd be willing to bet they made at least 3 changes to the SL in mid set the way it was going down)...

The everyday right into ants with no pause was good... obviously a dreaming tree opener crazy, I don't need to say more about that and a SUAD... that's pretty F'in unreal! Full band Some Devil...

Other than getting peed on during repunzel and threatening to kick his a$$ and getting him removed by security (because I didn't want to upset my wife) and HFGL and WAYG back to back (right after douchbag peed on me) I then got back into it and I'm glad because it was an amaizing show...

No DDTW, Seek or WWYS this year at alpine which are usually Alpine staples but it was nice to get some variety! Anyways my quick review hope you enjoy... oh and after yesterday the parking lot experience was amazingly better today, but that's pretty easy to have happen since I had to walk 4 friggin miles just to get to the show on time but that's a different story for another day, tonight I was out of the venue parking lot less than 5 minutes after watchtower was over!!!

~Jack

User: Alpine4
Rating:
Review:
The opener of Dreaming Tree made this whole night for me (choc rain outro). It was the first and only year that I had been to Alpine and not had a drink, due to marathon training. It's actually pretty nice not too be overly messed up during a DMB show, just shows you they are good live any time.

User: aLPiNeDooD
Rating:
Review:
Unreal setlist and an absolutely an Unreal show. I was expecting an unreal show since Saturday he was saying "Tomorrow Night, tomorrow night..." And Holy $hit it was unreal.

The vibe in the crowd was all on the same level the entire time. I mean christ, the surges of energy came one after another, and on everyday it peaked. And when Dave went off with Jimi Thing with Kirk Douglas and Then with Butch during his scat, followed by Daves soothing scat.... I felt it and I know everyone else did too.

After Dreaming tree I had no idea what to expect the rest of the show, other than I was to be Blown Away. And that encore that started out with a gravedigger which had all the emotion behind it like I'd never seen. followed with screams out of Dave that I haven't heard since Vegas. Plus the intro into Watchtower with a lil hint of Stephans love of Tool in the beginning. Anyone else hear the Schism intro???? But the waves of energy were unreal....

I'd like to congratulate everyone who witnessed the heaven's opening and god touching alpine valley for a night. For all who missed it.... Maybe next time.... But I doubt it!

User: Alpinevalley04'
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree opener!!!!!!! From that point on you knew it was going to be amazing!! WOW!!!!!

User: Amanda Moore
Rating:
Review:
awesome!!

User: annadawl
Rating:
Review:
Props to The Roots and DMB on Eh-hee!!!! WOW!!!!!

User: antsman41
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree!

User: Asuter1970
Rating:
Review:
The Idea Of You...nuff said

User: avsfan
Review:
out of 50 plus shows one of the best ive ever seen. Dreaming tree was beyond great

User: Bandaid341
Rating:
Review:
What can I say that hasn't been said... another great DMB experience!!

The setlist had some very high highlights...

The Dreaming Tree opener was simply put... awesome!! Just the chance to hear that song live was great but as the opener was incredible. It started the show off on such a great note...

I love One Sweet World... they could play it at every show I go to and I would never get sick of it.

I have heard Rapunzel at 5 of the 6 shows I have been to and it continues to be one of my favorites. It is just so much fun and has so much energy.

Cornbread... instant live classic!!

Idea of You... I know this song has it's lovers and it's haters... put me down as a lover of this song. It is a beautiful song to hear played live when your wife is standing next you.

Everyday / Ants Marching... I would preferred a couple of other tunes in these spots but hearing Ants mid-set was pretty cool as I, like others, had it picked as the opening set closer.

The new tune was very mellow... curious to see what it will turn into.

Some Devil... I love Dave's solo CD and hearing a full band version of one of those songs was crazy cool!!

Jimi Thing... I think Dave's reaction to Captain Kirk's solo says more about this than any words I could write could. It was freakin' incredible.

Eh Hee... The freakin' incredible just goes on and on!!

Sweet Up and Down... and on and on!!

Shotgun... It was cool to hear this song for the first time.

So Much To Say - Anyone Seen the Bridge - Too Much... I love this song combo!! It is just so much fun and so high energy and the twists added to it this year were very cool.

Gravedigger... Loved it!!

American Baby Intro... Dave has such an incredible voice and the passion during this cool jam was very intense.

Watchtower... My first time seeing it live and it was worth the wait. So intense and such a great way to end the weekend.

I am not going to try and rank this show with the others I have been to. It is DMB, in my opinion all the shows are great. I will say that as I wrote this review I changed my rating of 4 to a 5. Guess I like it even better looking back on it than I thought I did!!

And on top of the great show, I met some real cool people in the parking lot who had made the trip from Canada thru Buffalo thru Chicago to Alpine... If you read this my new friends from America Jr. (j/k) get in touch... you were great people!!

User: bbfcfm03
Review:
fucking awesome...i seriously they thought they were gonna do so much to say>SEX MACHINE...anyone else hear that?...jimi thing was awesome! I also thought Eh Hee was cool with the rap intro

User: Beckat916
Rating:
Review:
Thanks to WH, I was in the second row dead center! What a day, what a day. I topped it off with catching one of Carter's sticks!!! Can't wait for 2008.

User: behrens9
Rating:
Review:
awsome

User: bharmeling
Rating:
Review:
Went with a great group of friends. Parking lot was awesome.

User: Bigred1191
Rating:
Review:
Loved Watchtower to end the weekend!

User: BIKANDU
Rating:
Review:
Very good show. Great Dreaming Tree opener. There seemed to be even more energy on N2 than N1 and N1 was a high energy show. The full band Cornbread is incredible. I didn't think it would translate well to full band but I has wrong. It was impressive both nights. - I was very pleased to hear Shotgun, Idea of You and Some Devil. Sweet Up and Down was well... Sweet! - And a brand new tune debuted. I liked it. Time will tell if I come to love it. - And the So Much to Say-ASTB-Too Much had some new twists and turns to it. It was a nice fresh take on these standards - To top things off, a nice member of the Alpine Staff gave me one of the setlists. - A very nice night!

User: BillyBaruka
Rating:
Review:
Insanely good time. Great set. Not big on Mr. Deeeds and am sick of Watchtower.

User: bluecelica01
Rating:
Review:
Eh Hee... Nuff said... this should be a single with the ROOTS kicking it off!! great time... great show...

User: bojangles24
Rating:
Review:
I think I still might be a little high!

User: bombstep41
Rating:
Review:
great bday show....camped at hippy dudes house in back yard....was a muddy mess all weekend...had to get up Monday morning and drive home through rainstorm....great weekend....jesse buck got us these tickets in the lot

User: bong.rec.area
Rating:
Review:
Out of the seven shows I attended this year, my favorite by far.

User: bporterdmb
Rating:
Review:
No Dave fan has ever seen a great show until they see them at Alpine. This show was amazing, and is going to be hard to top in the future. This would be a great new Live CD release. Dave, The Roots and the Mud.

User: bubbaugly18
Rating:
Review:
by far the best show i have been to!!! all i heard after saturday night was, "WHAT THE FUCK IS HE GONNA PLAY SUNDAY!!!!" and holy shit, what didnt he play sunday!!! the crowd was amazing. dave's energy was unmatchable but the rest of the band tried their best to get on his level!!! and to close with watchtower was amazing!!! i have never seen nor heard him but so much into the song in previous shows!!! cannot wait for next year and hopefully he can match it or exceed this year!!!

User: bustedstuff88
Rating:
Review:
N2 of an awesome weekend at ALpine valley. Night one was amazing... N2 blew it away.

User: caliemerald99
Rating:
Review:
This show is in my top 5 for several reasons, I had never been to Alpine and was told by a wise man that Sunday at Alpine was like no other! He was right, it holds up there with the best of them and I would definitely travel back next year.

User: circuitry
Rating:
Review:
This is officially the best show I've ever seen...may have been the seats in 103 row F seats 3&4 or just the atmosphere in the lots before the show, just may have been actually being able to see the show after the unfortunate events of Saturday. Dreaming Tree was totally unexpected and the jam during Jimi Thing blew the roof off the lower pavilion. All in all another great weekend of DMB @ Alpine....they should make a Gorge-like CD/DVD combo for Alpine IMO....what do you all think???

User: cmac32
Rating:
Review:
This was my first Dave show, and i had the best time ever!

User: Cornbread410054
Review:
awesome

User: cranman007
Rating:
Review:
Honestly the best show I have ever seen in my life! The encore was unreal!

User: crazymandinga
Rating:
Review:
Un - FRICKN - Believable Show... Best Yet Better every Damn Year.... DMB and Roots should tour together more often LOL.... Rap'n and Jam'n

User: crgarrett07
Review:
saurday night was great but sunday was incredible!! hands down the best show i have ever been to

User: dachronic420
Rating:
Review:
kick a$$ show! DREAMING TREE OPENER!!!! the Black Thought freestyle during eh hee was amazing and jimi thing rock'd... SMTS-->ASTB-->Too Much with the long stop time intro had everyone confused/excited... had my favorite AATW for a closer (with steffen schizm intro :O my jaw seriously dropped)

User: Dancing Bencies
Rating:
Review:
alpineeeeeeee

User: danimalx21
Rating:
Review:
BEST CONCERT EVER!!!! Dreaming Tree, SUAD, EH Hee with the roots, best Jimi Thing ever...Captain Kirk!, SMTS>ASTB>Too Much was AMAZING!
I will never forget this concert....

User: danjaeger
Review:
Night 2 of Alpine was a great show. 3 or 4 times they had amazingg waves of energy carried through multipul songs. My favorites were American Baby Intro and So much into too much was amazing.

User: darthhobbit
Rating:
Review:
Best since Alpine last year.

User: davefan984
Rating:
Review:
unbelievably sick, I just wrote a huge review that was not saved, but all in all this is a fucking tape to get. I would not be surprised if this is a live trax or part of the next WH CD. THE ROOTS ARE THE BEST OPENERS AND GUESTS FOR DMB IN A LONG LONG TIME!!! This is how the songs go in order: Dreaming Tree, Eh Hee, A Dream So Real, Sweet Up and Down, Shotgun, Some Devil, Jimi Thing, Corn Bread, The Idea Of You, American Baby Intro--> Watchtower, Pantala Naga Pampa --> Rapunzel, OSW === a great fucking night!!

User: DaveInMN
Rating:
Review:
Spectacular show, both nights were amazing, dave freaking out after KD's solo on jimi thing gave me the chills, seemed he loved the solo as much as the crowd did. the band definately felt the energy the crowd was givin em

User: davekall
Rating:
Review:
Best and Favorite show out of the 15 that I have been to. Amazing!

User: Daves The Man
Review:
Great show. All Along The Watchtower was the perfect ending. Dreaming Tree opener..........What more could you want?

User: david cr0ckett
Rating:
Review:
three days of dave cannot be explained to anyone other who has done it

User: devine6655
Rating:
Review:
jimi thing was the absolute #1 individual live song ive ever heard...when the guitar player,kurt douglas i think, the black guy who kinda looks like hendrix w the white guitar came running across the stage out of nowhere just in time for the electric solo..up until then i thought i was gna b a chill version but i was the most electric feeling ive ever felt...some people go n chill or some people go nuts..no one was standing still during this jimi jam...so amazing i wrote a few emails to dmb to put it on album...so sick!! and the stephan Tool into to watchtower was sick too

User: didueverwonder
Review:
Oh So Sick!!!

User: DMB Fan 101
Rating:
Review:
amazing and couldn't be better!!!!!!! the songs and the line up was impressive!!!

User: DMB24Illini
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree So, the girl next to me said they soundchecked it and I didn't totally believe her. Wait.....DREAMING TREE OPENER? Are you kidding me? simply amazing.

One Sweet World Great song to hear, still on a high from DT opener.

PNP-->Rapunzel Up there with Warehouse as one of my favorites to hear live. Dave always gets into it and its a fun song, no matter where it is in the set.

Hunger for the Great Light Lots and lots of energy! God damn you're a pretty thing....

Where Are You Going? meh. expected to hear it.

Cornbread MUCH MUCH better than last night.

Idea of You I'm not a huge fan of this song and don't know why it gets so much loving, but it was still fun to hear. I expected it after not being played last night.

*******BEGIN INSANE-CRAZY SHOW TIL THE END*********

EVERYDAY Much like at 7.24.05, the crowd was really loud during this one. As much as people don't like the song, if the crowd is into it, it rocks.

Ants Marching Mid-set? I couldn't control myself at this point. Crowd was ridiculously crazy too. And it was only going to get better.

Monk brought out the electric guitar, but Dave shooed him away. Stand Up was supposed to be played (friend got the setlist), but instead they went into...

A Dream So Real Cool title. Really slow/mellow. Will be interesting to hear the recording and see how the rest of the boards respond to it.

Some Devil I really like this song with the full band. Kind of adds a spookiness feel to it.

Jimi Thing Holy crap....this version is definitely worth a download. Kirk Douglas of the Roots took this one to outer space. He and the horns added so much that I thought they were going to skip Butch's solo, but alas, Butch went into it and ROCKED it. Wow. Simply, wow.

Eh Hee Tied with Too Much as my favorite song of the night. Black Thought came on and rapped for about a minute before Dave even started singing. Totally crazy version with a lot of energy.

Sweet Up and Down Yes! Only time I have heard it before was with Dave and Friends, so this was awesome to hear. Once again, the Roots horn players took this one to the next level.

Shotgun Dave got really into it, screaming and everything. Definitely worth a download too.

So Much to Say Was surprised to hear this. I thought for sure that Too Much was coming to close, but this was a nice surprise. And I thought for sure that they were going to go into ASTB-->Too Much but they didn't.

But wait....Carter hits the drum once. Dave looks right.
Long pause.
Carter hits the drum twice. Dave looks straight.
Long pause.
Carter hits the drum three times. Dave looks left.
Long pause.
"Bayyyybe."
All hell breaks loose.

Too Much In the words of Harry Caray, "Holy cow!" I wish I could have seen the smile on my face, because I was going crazy. The horns here were amazing and was such a great way to close the show.
------
Gravedigger Amazing version of it. Dave was so loud and into at the end, that I was surprised that it was only him on stage.

American Baby Intro I'm not sure if there is a song that exemplifies why I am a Dave Matthews Band fan better than this. The sound that Dave can make when he is screaming is way beyond my comprehension. I don't know how someone can do that. Not to mention, this version was LOOONNNNGGG. The crowd was really loud and cheering and the band just kept rocking out to it.

Watchtower What a way to end the weekend. Crazy energy.

User: DMB3420
Rating:
Review:
LATER TOO TIRED

User: DMB44
Rating:
Review:
this show was good but i thought that Saturday was better but still it was a very good performance and great set list

User: dmbatman
Rating:
Review:
This was my 6th dmb show and it was the best ive ever seen. Dreaming tree and Eh hee were amazing!!

User: DMBCryFreedom
Rating:
Review:
Great ending to another fabulous weekend at Alpine Valley. Weather was awesome and the setlist was great.

User: DMBfan013
Rating:
Review:
eh hee was crazy shit

User: dmbfan41ryan
Rating:
Review:
Best show I have ever been to. It was an awesome atmosphere and the band had insane energy. Absolutely amazing.

User: dmbfwn
Rating:
Review:
Unbelievable. Awesome setlist, energy, crowd, guest performances.... A good mix of new and old. Combined with Sat. it will be hard to beat. They always step it up for Alpine.

User: dmbMase1
Rating:
Review:
There is just something about Alpine Valley that brings out the best in the band. This was the best show I have ever been to hands down. The setlist tonight was incredibly rare. The Dreaming Tree opener set the mood for the night and from thereout the band and the crowd delivered unbelievable energy. Definite highlights were Jimi Thing with Captain Kirk Douglas absolutely tearing it up on the electric followed by a sick Butch Taylor jam on the keys. The snare intro Ants Marching during the middle of the set was totally unexpected. Also great was the strange transition from SMTS into ASTB. Finally, a perfect encore featuring my favorite Dave solo song, Gravedigger, followed by American Baby Intro and Watchtower. This is one show and one night I will never forget. Thanks DMB!

User: dmbmike41
Rating:
Review:
My boss drank too much water!! Sorry Jake an Em!

User: DMBpablo
Review:
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! YAH!

User: dmbpsu41
Rating:
Review:
again, another stellar night. a dream so real? really?? hells to the yeah!
dreaming tree first time ever played as an openner. awesome. dave rejected the electric to play new song... pretty good. jimi was excellent: captain solo was intense... he played some ramble on. butch scat is awesome. Eh Hee with pretty much all the roots, and some rappin; startin to love that song. sweet up and down... it's been a long time my friend, good to hear you. at first i thought they weren't going to play smts into too much, but they paused and started into ASTB, i like it. i'm not a big watchtower fan and would have rather heard last stop (they had been sound checking it prior nights) but i am a tool fan, and fonzy broke into schism, which was worth it. great seats and again, amazing energy. there were guests up the butt. this is indeed the bands favorite place to play. i will be back to this wonderful venue.

User: dmbroadie8
Rating:
Review:
All I can say is wow, probably the best I've seen yet. And there's nothing like Alpine.

User: Dobler
Rating:
Review:
Most unreal show ever!! this is my 14th show and it blew my mind!! love the new tunes, the jams (especially with the guys from the roots) and dave belting it out!! I cant believe stefan did tool's schism into 10,000 days for the bass solo into watchtower...also loved dreaming tree, suad, jimi thing....well all of them actually haha... only problem was some douchebag like 3 rows behind me was bashing him and saying dave sucks threw at least the first 5 tunes... so i turned around and to him to shut the F*&$ up!! problem solved, he shut up!! who goes to a concert and bashes an unreal band infront of tons of dmb fans. if anyone knows this guy punch him in the face for me!! hahaha

User: drew14
Rating:
Review:
Eh Hee was the highlight of the evening. For Everyone. If you all haven't realized it yet...you will...wait and see.

User: dtpollitt
Rating:
Review:
From an iPhone @ Kettle Moraine: The jam sessions were top notch; Boyd was on the top of his game. The unreleased songs (Idea, Dream, Shotgun, etc.) were all very well done, The Roots jam band and ?uestlove did a great job. Setlist highlight was Dave doing Gravedigger solo. Superb ending. Highly recommended from a guy with #17 under his belt.

User: dvmeister07
Rating:
Review:
BEST SHOW I HAVE EVER BEEN TOO!

User: dwenc15
Rating:
Review:
wow
idea of you
to everyday
to ants

was amazinggg

then ending with watch tower
omg that concert was undescribable

User: eboy12171977
Rating:
Review:
MUDD

User: Eversharp
Rating:
Review:
Awesome show

User: fallsrescue17
Rating:
Review:
I think that we're all getting too caught up in Saturday's "Mud Concert". Both shows rocked, but Sunday night's show was a new level. I know that Dave and the band is always appreciative when they come to Alpine, but when is the DVD going to come out?! "WEEKEND ON THE HILL"

User: FlzmFlazm
Review:
One of the best I have seen.

User: fonz4dmb
Rating:
Review:
Simply an amazing show with great seats

User: footballteen25
Rating:
Review:
16th show for me and I have to say that this has been the best yet! Dreaming tree opener blew my mind. The Roots guesting on a lot of songs sounded amazing. Best Jimi thing that I have ever heard. Finally got to here watchtower.New song sounds like it has some potential! The rap before eh hee was really cool. These guys dont stop to amaze me!

User: gankster
Rating:
Review:
SICK AMOUNTS OF ENERGY!

User: Garrettnettz
Rating:
Review:
Wowsers, eh hee with the roots was a fucking jam, i was going bonkers when that was going on... Some Devil full band was cool, since i love the solo album. Loving the new stuff, i mean what can i say? AATW closer was preceded by the raddest ABI ever. Renewed my faith in the band, they had been hit or miss for me for the last few years. I didnt want to leave, and stayed in the lot till 130 becuz of it. Holla.

User: GarW
Rating:
Review:
Fewest amount of people at a alpine DMB show in a long time. I think that it was so hard to get in the night before less people came, but otherwise great show.

User: GeorgiaBean
Rating:
Review:
Better last night.

User: GGAll-Stars
Rating:
Review:
My birthday show!! Great setlist, overall great experience!!!

User: gibsonsg4417
Review:
AWESOME SHOW, MY FIRST DMB, DEFFENETLY NOT MY LAST!!

User: goblue34
Review:
Best show I have ever seen hands down, absolutely amazing!

User: greybart41
Rating:
Review:
Just ridiculous Sh.it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The stage was on fire tonight. Black thought the MC for The Roots spitting on Eh Hee? Without question a top notch performance by the band and the Roots. Electric energy. The show was the sh.it and if you didn.t think so, then you don't need to go to another.

User: GreyStreet131
Review:
13th show tonight and what a night it was. This weekend once again confirmed what I have known for years... this is one of the greatest American Rock bands ever. The way they play their hearts out and give everything they have on every song is truly something you have to witness to believe. Thanks DMB for another amazing summer to remember. See ya in 2008

User: Grooves17
Rating:
Review:
I was really looking forward to this show (especially after missing the first 5 songs the first night due to traffic), and it didn't dissapoint. Dreaming Tree, mid-set Ants, a mashup of Eh Yee and a Roots song, and an awesome encore. The band was really into Rapunzel, Jimi Thing and pretty much every song. Great energy, great show!

User: handal
Rating:
Review:
One of the best DMB shows I've seen out of the 25 or so I've attended. I've been waiting 8 years for Dreaming Tree!

User: hhdoc2002
Rating:
Review:
Simply incredible! A whole list of memorable, unique events. Dreaming tree opener, SUAD, a one of a kind variation of Anyone Seen the Bridge, a new slowed down twist to Too Much, midset Ants, a new song debut, Butch's scatting, Shotgun, and capping it off with Watchtower. Lots of energy and it appeared the band REALLY fed off the crowd vibe all night. Don't know if they can top this. A CLASSIC performance!

User: hockeysg77
Rating:
Review:
amazing of 18 shows by far the best

User: howelldmbfan
Rating:
Review:
not the best song selection in my opinon

User: hugheser1988
Rating:
Review:
What a fantastic show. Great setlist. Dave and gthe boys really showed up tonight. However, the setlist was overpowered for me by the audience. After six years at Alpine, I have never been so ashamed to call myself an Alpine-goer. Load, obnoixious, brawling, out of control. I love Alpine and the band always brings its' A-game, but I shudder at the idea of it becoming a haven for out of conteol high school students and drunks. Fatastic set, despite HFGL and WWYG back to back. Inro to TM brought the energy to an unprecidented high.

User: icculus479
Rating:
Review:
Eh Hee was one of the best songs i've heard DMB play

User: imdajn
Review:
i was standing in the best spot of the lawn imo, that plus an amazing concert opening with dreaming tree, playing my favorite pnp>repunzel and best american baby intro ive ever seen or heard

User: Jacobsdad11
Rating:
Review:
Open with Two Step and Close with Trippin Billies, with #41, Cornbread, and Stay. Best Show I've seen in 10 years.

User: jdpaoli
Rating:
Review:
Great energy, period! It was as good a show as I've seen at Alpine.

User: jeepers11
Review:
Awsome

User: JHahn812
Rating:
Review:
Scored 7th row tix at this show. Awesome set list. Only song missing was Two Step.

User: Jibiti
Rating:
Review:
Solid show. Did NOT expect The Dreaming Tree opener, good to hear a brand new song, possibly the the best full band version of Eh Hee with a more hip hop vibe to it with help with the Roots, loved hearing Sweet Up and Down and Shotgun, and Stefan teasing Tool's Schism during his solo was awesome.

User: jimiDMBthing
Rating:
Review:
This was an amazing show. We got to be the first to hear A Dream So Real. Eh Hee was amazing as well with the I will not apologize intro. Download this show if you can find it.

User: jimispoon8
Rating:
Review:
This show was pumped up.

User: Josh99
Review:
Unbelievable show tonight. I was actually physically exhausted by the end of it to be honest, because this has been a really great two nights and I'm out of gas from basically going nuts and sleeping very little since Thursday. Tonight was my 37th show, and I've been waiting since my first show to see my favorite song, Dreaming Tree, once again. The first time the crowd was shit and ruined it for me, tonight, everything was perfect. Flawless performance, Dave did the "take me back" wailing like on 7/30/03, plus Rashawn on the outro, and the crowd loved it. My mind is still blown by the fact that this opened, and it set the tone for the night.

Let me take this moment to applaud the alpine crowd tonight, which was the best crowd I've ever seen at a dmb show. They were so into it, fully attentive, very enthusiastic, and the band fed off the crowd and vice versa. Nobody was taking piss breaks and talking with their buddies and disrupting the people around them, but rather, singing along and going nuts the whole way through. If you wonder why the band saves their A game for places like this, come up here for a weekend next summer and you'll find your answer.

So many highlights, and so few low spots tonight, and the crowd kept the momentum going through the low spots (basically the Hunger to Everyday run). Some Devil was brilliant, the band seemed a lot tighter on it. Jimi Thing and Eh Hee were phenomenal (I really enjoyed having the Roots' rapper on the song, and having all the horns finally gave the song the full feeling it had been lacking). Sweet Up and Down was outstanding, and the knowledgeable crowd ate it up. Shotgun was also a definite highlight, and the encore was fantastic, with an ABI that rivaled Red Rocks night 4, followed up by a really great Watchtower, as they all have been this year.

It was nice to get a song debut tonight, but the song feels very incomplete. Very mellow song that incorporates some Two Step intro lyrics, and very short. Not sure what will become of it.

All in all, these were two extremely memorable shows, and tonight probably ranks as one of the very best shows I've been to. The band definitely brought their A-game, and I think they really rewarded us after pretty much everyone had a very trying show-going experience yesterday due to the traffic/weather problems.

User: joy361
Rating:
Review:
I thought this was my best show at the time, till this years' N1 Alpine.

User: jrfriar
Rating:
Review:
Always a "good good" time in the Valley!

User: jsrcrb
Rating:
Review:
Much better state of mine for this show than the night before. Seats were not great but really enjoyed the show and the set list. 4 shows in one season has made me decide to do a major road trip next year - couple weeks and 6-8 shows with maybe red rocks or gorge. That would be awesome.

User: JSwance
Rating:
Review:
Awesome

User: jtr1281
Review:
amazing, the best dave show that i've been to. great atmosphere, the band the crowd were great

User: jurgen2001
Rating:
Review:
7th year at Alpine, and by far the best show yet. Amazing energy! The new addition to Shotgun was great. Perfect encore.

User: justifari
Rating:
Review:
Amazing show... set list complemented Saturday's show really well. The guys from roots added an extra kick on many songs, especially Too Much.... which was the best live version I've heard. Great energy, even though it wasn't sold out.

User: jwardein
Rating:
Review:
awesome awesome show....cant wait for 2008 tour

User: kauthk
Rating:
Review:
Holy shit... 7th row felt like I was on stage with the band. Unbelievable!

User: kiwiroots
Rating:
Review:
Of the 23 shows I have been very fortunate to see some of the classics. Alpine 06.26.99, Gorge 09.08.02, Deer Creek 06.02-03.06 etc. This show may have very well topped them all. They all walked on stage with this little I know something you don't know smirk. Even the most educated of us obsessed fans would have guessed OSW or Seek Up, maybe a DDTW but Dreaming Tree are you kidding me? Normally its going to be a downward slide after that but they did a great job of keeping the energy high and reminding us why we keep coming back year after year. All I have to say is thank you. In a world where even the best of bands play pretty much the same hour and a half set every night, we should all feel very fortunate to have witnessed the epic show that was 08.26.07.

User: kpaul897
Rating:
Review:
DREAMING TREE!!!!!!!!!!! Got to watch the show with 14 friends and family in row VA-J-J. A Dream So Real debut, mid-set Ants, Roots totally stole the show during EhHee and Cornbread. Second night of mud not nearly as bad Night 1. Bridge was insane. All the timestops were perfect. Shotgun, Sweet Up and Down....it keeps going on and on!

User: krik000
Rating:
Review:
Wow this was a spectacular show tonight. We had awesome seats thanks to the WAREHOUSe. This was my 16th DMB show and it sits up there with the best of them for me.

User: Kvaners1
Rating:
Review:
Amazing Show Love the new Songs!!!!

User: letmedrinkyou
Review:
Wow!

User: leyandre
Rating:
Review:
probably the best dave show i've ever seen, with the release of the new song, to the energy by dave after douglas' solo on jimi thing, pretty much the energy from the fans and the band made this show

User: Linjer
Rating:
Review:
Best show i have ever been to. hands down

User: lockman21
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree* - Oh my God. I knew that soundcheck, and figured this would be the first full band song of the encore. This was a fucking shock. It's an amazing opener, amazing song. Just great.
One Sweet World* - Best OSW I've ever heard. Not because it was an amazing version, but because it was such a high after Dreaming Tree.
Pantala Naga Pampa*
Rapunzel* - What a great way to start a show. DT, OSW, Rapunzel. I was rocking out. Dave flubbed the lyrics a little bit, but nothing extreme. Fonz and Boyd were doing some weird jumping thing with each other.
Hunger For The Great Light* Hate to admit it, but I actually kinda enjoy this song live. Maybe it was just because of the start, but...it was fun.
Where Are You Going - I needed a break.
Corn Bread* - As I stated above, I love this song live. The second go around was no exception.
The Idea Of You* - I really don't like what Carter does in the chorus anymore.
Everyday* - Lance was there this weekend, this had to show up.
Ants Marching* Fucking great that before 9:30, we got Ants, Dreaming Tree and Rapunzel already. Ants was rocking. I got goosebumps to see this appear this early. Even though the segue from Everyday is kinda expected, I was thinking this was going to close the main set so I didn't think it would.
A Dream So Real [new song]* I have a clip I will upload. It was boring. I didn't really enjoy what I heard, but I tried to listen. Too many people talking and leaving to piss/get drinks/etc.
Some Devil* - LOVE this full band.
Jimi Thing*+~ - Actually a really really good Jimi. Kirk Douglas is the shit.
Eh Hee * - If you don't get anything from this weekend, at least get this. This song was rocking. Would have been the highlight of tonight...but Dreaming Tree opened, and I got my first SUAD...so it was 3rd.
Sweet Up and Down*~ - Finally got this song! I loved it so much. So glad this came back.
Shotgun * - I really love what's become of this song. It was my first Shotgun.
So Much To Say*~ Standard SMTS, but the new ASTB is unbelievably awesome. The entrance into this was so cool. I don't know if it's the same thing they've been doing with ASTB all year, but it was fantastic. It was almost stop time with the last chord of SMTS with the band members freezing movement in between each chord they hit. Then after about 3 times of that (about 25-30 seconds) Dave sang the final "baby" and went into ASTB. It was a lot of fun.
Anyone Seen The Bridge*~
Too Much*~ - No matter what anyone says, this is a great way to end a show.

Encore:
Gravedigger6|| - Great E1, better than Sister.
American Baby Intro* Pretty standard ABI, which means it rocked the house.
All Along The Watchtower* - So glad this song came back as well. Perfect way to close the weekend.

User: Lois Griffin
Rating:
Review:
MAGICAL!!! The mud was out of control! I have never had so much fun!

User: LuckyJerin
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree was so beautiful. A dream So Real was great too. American Baby Intro...love it time after time.

User: lukedemmers
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree opener, with great songs to follow. Amazing end to an amzing trip that me and my friends will never forget

User: Lynchmobb41
Rating:
Review:
SHOTGUN, EH HEE (ROOTS), DREAMING TREE DEBUTE, A DREAM SO REAL ETC

User: mali0462
Rating:
Review:
only my second dave but best concert i have ever been too...it was really overwhelming. such a great setlist to have experienced!

User: mandapants
Rating:
Review:
Best Setlist!!!!

User: MandaTrain
Rating:
Review:
Saturday I lost my faith. Sunday I went to the church of Dave and became a believer again...

User: mas5237
Rating:
Review:
fuck the alpine security...they took our neighbors beer but overall it was a good show...opening with dreaming tree fuckin owned...best possible closer, schism intro to watchtower, i coulndt ask for a better night

User: Mat_DMB
Rating:
Review:
yummy

User: Mave Datthews
Rating:
Review:
Night two of my first Alpine experience... wow.

User: mdog34
Rating:
Review:
Best I Have Ever Seen.......Ever

User: mfietek
Rating:
Review:
My 10th show and hands down the best show I have ever been to. Perfect set list, new versions, and the crowd was so into it. Sunday at alpine is so much better every year. All the idiots are gone and just DMB fans left. If I cant have Bele Fleck I will take the Roots any day. The perfect compliment to DMB. I will never forget this night.

User: mgurath
Rating:
Review:
Amazing, Dave played forever and had the perfect balance of songs.

User: Mike Philipps
Review:
Excellent. Probably the best encore I've ever seen!

User: mikedewyze
Rating:
Review:
sick ass show effing amazing

User: mikie4121
Rating:
Review:
smoked alot

User: mpascua
Rating:
Review:
Pretty good, can't take the lawn anymore!

User: MPizzle06
Rating:
Review:
holy shit...I love this band!

User: naas909
Rating:
Review:
As previously posted:

"Saturday I lost my faith. Sunday I went to the church of Dave and became a believer again..."

I couldn't agree more.

User: natestuff
Rating:
Review:
Wasn't sure if they'd be able to top 1st night, but somehow they did. Dreaming Tree opener after tease 1st night rocked! Crowd was louder than first night even though there were less people there. Band seemed to be having tons of fun. Roots guesting was da bomb. Fonzie's Tool (Schism) intro to watchtower just blew my mind. One of my favorite DMB shows of all time!

User: ndufan21
Rating:
Review:
IN-credible

User: nick wright
Rating:
Review:
best yet!

User: nickfry1
Rating:
Review:
Probably one of the best live DMB shows that I have ever seen. #41, Bartender, All Along the Watchtower...and the Roots on Eh Hee....the most inclusive playlist and the most collaboratively talented stage....just awesome.

User: nicknmk88
Rating:
Review:
great show

User: nje0241
Rating:
Review:
still muudd but we had seats

User: Nothing2Fancy
Rating:
Review:
The Roots were sick.

F*in underage though.

User: november rain
Rating:
Review:
Second night of alpine valley rocked so hard. Idea of you is such a good song, and finally they busted out watchtower!!!! jeez almost too much

User: ntornabene
Rating:
Review:
Both of the Alpine '07 shows should be released. Period.

User: onesweetseth
Rating:
Review:
My first two dave shows were this weekend and they rocked!!!!

User: oscar734
Rating:
Review:
Awesome!

User: Pablo23
Review:
Unreal setlist is all I can say. DREAMING TREE opener. Highlights for me was RAPUNZEL when Boyd & Stefan were jumping in unison. Eh hee with Black Thought freestyle intro. And of course JIMI THING with Captain" Kirk Douglas solo. I loved how Dave reacted after his solo.

Listen to this recording!

User: pauli
Rating:
Review:
Awesome show

User: popper
Rating:
Review:
Great show...Love the AB Intro Outro..

User: pozini45
Rating:
Review:
awesome seats got to love Alpine and so does DMB

User: prol3iker
Rating:
Review:
Awesome Show!!

User: pzindahizzy
Rating:
Review:
Roots were good...Lawn decks were nice

User: Redroxy
Rating:
Review:
Dreaming Tree opener - are you kidding??? No one saw that coming. Loved Cornbread so much...that song is downright dirty! Ants in the middle of the set was an awesome burst of energy. Sweet Up and Down...yessss! Perfect little encore...been waiting the hear ABI and Watchtower for awhile. To make the whole night, I was two feet away from Dave when he was riding his bike from the resort to the venue before the show. Absolutely fuckin' unbelieveable!!!

User: Rlarson1223
Rating:
Review:
Awesome

User: Rockthesuburbs
Review:
wowza

User: roxyfox1980
Rating:
Review:
Best Dave show Ive ever seen, the energy was magical! Thank you Dave!

User: rrusso13
Rating:
Review:
Fun hanging with the boys!

User: RTunberg
Rating:
Review:
opening with the dreaming tree and closing with watchtower.. you can't ask for much more..

User: rt_davemb
Rating:
Review:
First show i've ever been to, i shed a tear when dave came out on stage, i kid u not

User: ryanlyrek
Rating:
Review:
First Show.

User: ryno242
Rating:
Review:
just awesome

User: saygoodbyeflo
Rating:
Review:
He knew he had to start w Dreaming Tree! Bad-Ass

User: SCUBA BUZZ
Rating:
Review:
Absolutly Amazing im still hungover...

User: sgalla
Review:
Sean Bright basically called every song. Giant sub...just a great show!

User: sillyseth15soc
Rating:
Review:
most amazing set list

User: Smoothrider87
Review:
AMAZING!!! Both nights were unbelievable! Sunday night was definatly the best show ive ever been to of his! Just AWESOME

User: smtsastb
Rating:
Review:
The Dreaming Tree fillllllllthy

User: snwmn520
Rating:
Review:
OMG!!!

User: somedevil07
Review:
Phenomenal

User: SpicoliPitino
Rating:
Review:
Wow. The Roots. First public performance of dream so real...had a blast in this beautiful venue...show was tight, the weather was amazing, crowd was pumped, and wasn't much more I could ask for!

User: Staasgaard
Rating:
Review:
Awesome open and encore!

User: stav1404
Rating:
Review:
WATCHTOWER

User: steepler
Rating:
Review:
Very nice show. 15th show and it is great every time!
They never disappoint at Alpine.

User: sternies
Rating:
Review:
A Dave highlight show - SO nice...........

User: Steve21487
Rating:
Review:
Absolutley amazing...
there is nothing more to say, just incredible.

User: STLboyDMB14
Rating:
Review:
first dave i have gone to and i had the greatest time ever cant wait to go next year

User: stoops
Rating:
Review:
DREAMING TREE OPENER...HELL YEAH!!

User: stud0028
Rating:
Review:
I have been to 22 shows. This one was top 3. What a treat! Excellent energy way better than N1. at one point during the show there were 13 people on stage playing at once. I have never seen that at any DMB show.

User: StylinKim
Rating:
Review:
Never heard shotgun live. "fan"tastic!!

User: Swid007
Rating:
Review:
Idea was awesome, A Dream So Real is a great song, SHOTGUN WAS AWESOME, and EH HEE version with the Rotts was the coolest song I'll ever hear DMB sing. Black thought tore it up!!!!!

User: Synjin41
Rating:
Review:
Better weather, better sound, high energy. Only bad part was long drive home in the morning.

User: theduke1382
Rating:
Review:
HOLY SHIT DREAMING TREE OPENER THAT EXPLAINS ALL

User: TheStone24
Rating:
Review:
called the encore...'nuff said

User: THolm9
Rating:
Review:
The Idea of You was Incredible!!!!!!!!!

User: TomAmyDMBfans
Rating:
Review:
very good show. hated to have the weekend come to an end. we will be back here to see Dave again !!

User: tpatt09
Rating:
Review:
Crazy Insane!

User: twostep
Review:
Shotgun was the only misplaced song. The new song was kind of bland. Horns didn't know what they were doing on that song. Or so it seemed.

User: uwlvogel83
Rating:
Review:
dreaming tree

User: vogelzac2
Rating:
Review:
One of my favorite Dave shows

User: VVarder
Review:
After night one, where I missed HALF the show getting in, my expectations were high. And they were met. Been waiting for Dreaming Tree for a long time, the Ee-Hee w/ the Roots was crazy, and Jimi Thing (which I've grown a little tired of in recent years) was pretty damn awesome. Throw in a brand new song, full band some devil, too much to mention. Great night.

User: wahoofan87
Rating:
Review:
Amazing show... Dreaming Tree... crucial... ah hee... soo sweet.... a dream so real debut... wow

User: walktheline
Rating:
Review:
Crazygood

User: weller3377
Review:
Words can't even describe the night. Got tickets around 1:30am on Sunday morning, left Indy at 2pm and enjoyed Alpine for the first time. Couldn't have picked a better show to go to!

User: WhoaNelly
Rating:
Review:
Tied for the best concert I've ever seen (with my first DMB show)!! Opening with Dreaming Tree was awesome... Eh Hee was probably the coolest thing I've ever heard!! And that was the first time I've seen Watchtower in person! Simply unreal!!

Thanks guys!

User: wisdom_giellis
Rating:
Review:
VIP Box Seats; Personal Waitress w/ Paid for Food and Drink, VIP Lounge w/ included buffet and bar. all that aside DMB will never cease to produce an amazing live show, especially at the Alpine Valley. Dance on Ants.....

User: wnt2believe
Rating:
Review:
Pretty typical Sunday at Alpine........Coulda done without WAYG and I gotta say not a big fan of Dream So Real but hey solid encore and gotta say Some Devil with the band pretty sweet.......Which then I should sat Sweet up and Down NICE!!!!


   


Want to hide all ads on Ants? Click here

   
LINKSABOUTMOBILESOCIAL
Home
Ants+
Tour Central
Search bar
RSS Feeds
About Us
Contact Us
The Ants Blog
Advertise on Ants
Privacy Policy
DMB Live Setlist
Ants Tour Central
Ants on your cell phone
mobile news
mobile setlists
Ants' Twitter
DMBLive Twitter
Ants Facebook
Ants Instagram
Matt's Twitter
Joe's Twitter